Sophie on…Tennis


This is the part of the blog where Sophie takes over and writes about her views on whatever topic I present to her. This week’s topic is Andy Murray’s match against Novak Djokovic. Over to Sophie.

(by the way if you don’t want to know who won, DON’T READ!!!)

So I’m not really big on sport, BUT, I do enjoy a good game of tennis, even if I do need Andrew to explain whats going on half of the time. Today was special too, Andy Murray, my favourite sportsman,(he’s Scottish and sometimes Britain’s only hope at winning anything) was in the final of the Aussie Open and I had planned that he was going to win.

The match ‘kicked off’ at something silly like half past 8 in the morning, and that really is not an acceptable time to be up on a Sunday, so naturally, I stayed in bed and got up to watch the 3rd Set. By this point in the match Djokovic, had already won 2 sets and I was not happy! Poor little (or not) Murray was getting very agitated with himself and shouting lots of naughty words which, for someone who could lip-read, would be very obvious. Because of Murray’s naughty words, the commenty man had to apologise which confused me because I didn’t realise that you weren’t allowed to ‘mouth swear’ if you don’t actually hear it on the telly.

Really I don’t blame Murray for getting so upset, Djokovic really did have him running about the court (not pitch like I nearly wrote) like a very fast runny thing. Murray had to run on a stick (that’s really fast but not as fast as being on a hairy stick) to return some of the balls that he was being served, as quick as he is, he kind of has the grace of a Giraffe.

Well anyway, it all ended in tears, Murray didn’t stick to my plan and has to come back to Britain without the victory from down under. But I still like him, and that is all that matters.

Big thanks to Sophie there for her review of this morning’s exciting tennis match. Tune in next week for another round of Sophie On…

~ by puttingonabraveface on January 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
