Back When It Was Good – Revisting Spyro


After reading a review on the awesomeness of the Spyro franchise (original Insomniac franchise, the rest are horrible especially Sierra’s new take on the story which totally screws up the originals – though I can’t seem to stop buying them!) on Mitch Rukat Gaming I decided I just HAD to play them again even though my goal has been to complete 40 Winks (something I’m sure I can live without for a while and besides, when I go back to it I might be able to beat them nasty pirates!). The only problem is which one to choose? It’s been literally at least a decade since I finished Spyro the Dragon and I’ve hardly touched it since because I preferred the introduction of hover in 2 & 3 (triangle button whilst gliding if you’re interested) plus 2 & 3 introduced new characters and better levels.

A horrible thought has just occurred to me. After literally years of trying I finally completed Spyro: Year of The Dragon, however my memory card is broken…all that work for nothing 😦

In the end I chose Spyro 2: Gateway to Glimmer and ended up having flashbacks to Spyro the Dragon in the desert world. But anyway, I put the game in and hit start and it was everything it used to be. Except for the fact that every time I replay an old game the voices always sound different than I remember, especially Moneybags. Other than that it was business as usual. Toast a few baddies, charge the ones you can’t toast, get a power-up for a short mini-game, grab some orbs, pay out to Moneybags (who was ruined in A Hero’s Tail when they turned him – without being racist here, just my fury at change – egyptian!), earn a talisman and get called a dork. Yes, Elora the faun called Spyro a dork, a word that is not often used this side of the nineties.

Anyway, this game introduced a host of brand new characters including the aforementioned faun and bear. My favourite of these new characters is Hunter who was a sportsy cheetah with clumsy and forgetful tendencies. The one line of his that stuck in my mind was from Spyro Year of the Dragon (my all time favourite game) when after being given an apple he asks “Got any chips?” I’m not sure why it sticks with me but it has done since the game was released. In the new Sierra versions of the game Hunter has been introduced as a wise cheetah from a large clan with a bow and arrow (the bow and arrow seen in the Satyr level of  Gateway to Glimmer and later A Hero’s Tail). I simply cannot accept the new Hunter unless he suddenly becomes a ‘dude’ and starts tripping over himself and getting himself into trouble (and asking for chips on a skateboard!).

What I am trying to say here is that any Spyro game post Year of the Dragon does not exist! Only Insomniac can make Spyro games!! (Same goes for Naughty Dog and Crash Bandicoot another classic from my PS1 days)

~ by Jess Wiles on February 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
