How To Write A Novel In 10 Steps: Step 5 – It’s Time For Talking


OK, so we’ve had Characters, Plot, Places and People. next up is dialogue and dialect. I sort of forgot about the steps while I was busy with my essay and less busy writing and I could really go for another cracker with pate, nom. Err…anyway dialogue…

Dialogue is all about what you’re characters are going to say to each other and dialect is how they say it (I know you knew that but it’s just a starting point). Dialogue and dialects must reflect your character’s personality. For example, Emma is a pretty angry person, as a result of this she swears…quite a bit actually. The tone of your writing should also reflect on your character. If you’re writing a story from the point of view of Joe Thicky (no offense to any Joes) who’s a bit of a thicky, you’re not going to write hugely long or complex words in your sentences. It would be out of character. So keep the tone realistic.

As a real life example (and just to clear something up), I did not know what a phallus was until last night. Therefore up until I was told what it was (and made myself look a pillac on my blog) I would not have used the word phallus in conversation, nor would I have thought about it unless it was to ponder on its meaning.

 

Added note: The phallus is an erect penis…see why I feel stupid?

~ by Jess Wiles on February 12, 2011.

2 Responses to “How To Write A Novel In 10 Steps: Step 5 – It’s Time For Talking”

  1. what does it mean then?

  2. what does phallus mean then?

Leave a Reply

 
