The door-to-door salesmen of religion


About an hour ago, two men in suits knocked on our door. Since Sophie doesn’t answer doors and I was closest I got up to see what was going on. First impression was ‘Great, what do they want to sell me?’ and when they spoke it became clear. They were trying to sell me God.

I haven’t believed in God since I was little. In fact I used to be very religious, I was going to call my baby Jesus. My belief was shaken with the death of my dog. They say that God comforts you in your time of need, but I felt no comfort. But still, even with my belief shaken I continued to believe, if only a little. That changed with the death of my Nana. It is strange how the death of a loved one can give faith as much as it can shatter it into tiny insignificant pieces. I was angry, bitter. My prayers went unanswered and my faith vanished. With no God to help me, I realised that the only person that was going to help me in these situations was myself. And so I have searched for my own answers to the big questions of life and death since then.

Nowadays I have my own views and thoughts on life and death and religion. I won’t put a lot of these thoughts on paper for fear of offending someone, but I will just say that I believe in Gaia. But when these two men arrived at my door, offering God, I was…amused. It wasn’t their fault, they don’t know me, they don’t know that I’ve heard it all countless times from my Church-going friend (including the line ‘you’re going to hell’ – a little harsh, but a pointless argument), they don’t know how stubborn I am. So I stood and listened. They asked me my views, I told them I believed in reincarnation. Three times I said I wasn’t interested in God and it was only after the third time that they actually left.

I don’t have a problem with religion. Sure, I think a lot of it is nonsense, but that’s my opinion and if it makes people happy then so what? However, I do have a problem with the messengers, the people who travel door-to-door to deliver the message of God. If I was thinking about becoming Christian I would go to a Church (one with singing and dancing, not boring sit-down-and-pray church), I don’t need some ‘enlightened’ individuals to come round and forcibly tell me about their religion, because that just makes me dig my heels in deeper.

So don’t come round my house to talk about God. To be quite honest I don’t care and I don’t need ‘saving’.

~ by Jess Wiles on March 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
