Listening is the new reading – The power of Audiobooks


Those of you who follow this blog may recall that I wrote a review on The Blade Itself the audiobook version. I don’t think I did it justice then, having only listened to a few chapters. Nowadays it’s practically all I listen to. My nightly routine has turned into PJs, bed, solitaire and audiobook. What really makes the book is the man reading it. Steven Pacey is fantastic at his job and I really hope that one day he may even read one of my books as an audiobook (if I ever get the damn things finished). You see, everything I read now (and I mean everything) is said in Steven Pacey’s voice in my head. Even as I write The Company I can hear him narrating and doing the voices.

The Blade Itself is wonderfully well written. It has the perfect balance between dialogue and description and Steven’s personification of each character is fantastic. My favourite character is Inquisitor Sand dan Glokta, the 35 year old cripple. I’m not entirely sure if we’re supposed to like Glokta but I just want to give him a hug, though I’m sure I’d get battered for it.

The book has made me laugh aloud with some of the comments Byaz, first of the Magi has come out with (a slight problem when everyone else is asleep) and all of the characters are well developed and very real. I cannot give this enough praise, even though I still haven’t finished it (I’m nearly half-way, then there’s the two sequels). I look forward to listening to the rest of The Blade itself and the two sequels and Glokta had better be in all of them or I’ll be really upset.

~ by Jess Wiles on April 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
