Finally getting on with it.


As you may have noticed my posts have been a little thin on the ground recently. I would like to say that it’s because I’ve been working so hard on my books that I haven’t had time, but I’d be lying. I spent the past two days sat listening to Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie (fantastic book and definitely worth the read for fantasy lovers) and have done little writing. I actually picked up Across the Wall the other day and wrote a little bit more of that but I quickly deferred back to Between Fools and Kings formally known as Written in Fire. I got back into writing again properly last night at some ungodly hour, sat here writing until just gone two in the morning. I only wrote two chapters but it’s something at least and took my grand total up to three chapters. Yay. I plan to do a couple of chapters a day from now and then it’ll be done in no time (though my plans rarely work out well).

I’ve also started exercising! Now, I’ve never been too bothered about weight or appearances. Granted I was furious when my great-aunt told me I’d put a lot of weight on and she was terribly upset about it and then tried to bribe me to lose weight, but who can blame me. She even tried to tell me that the shirt I was wearing didn’t fit. It did and it wasn’t even tight except a little around my chest but that’s got nothing to whether or not I’m fat. Oddly enough, being bribed to lose weight had the opposite effect on me. If there’s one thing you can guarantee about me it’s that telling me to do something only makes me want to do it less. What actually kicked me into gear was two girls on Britain’s Got Talent (I say girls, they looked about my age but the oldest was nearly thirty) who did a martial arts demonstration. I’ve always wanted to do martial arts so that I could run and jump and kick like a ninja and watching them repeatedly kick at nothing made something click in my head and at that point I decided I was going to learn to do that if it killed me (and it might yet, unfit as I am). For the past week-ish I’ve been doing twenty sit ups and twenty wall press-ups a day (girl press-ups hurt my knees and if I do proper press-ups I fall on my face so for now I’m just working on getting some actual strength in my arms). I can feel it working, especially when I try to lean forward at the wrong angle, and I’m quite chuffed that I’ve kept it up this long – I’m a tad fickle when it comes to this sort of thing, or perhaps defeatist is the word.

Righty-ho, I’m off to get some writing done. It’s about time I got on with it.

~ by Jess Wiles on May 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
