Check out these Cool Cats – The Cat Returns


For me, Film4 is my link to the Studio Ghibli films I don’t own (I have one…yeah). It was because of Film4 that I started watching Japanese films and television shows, the first being the subbed version of Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind which I obviously enjoyed and have since seen the dubbed version (Patrick Stewart’s in it :D). Today Film4 showed The Cat Returns, an anime film I hadn’t seen but Vicky had (many times in fact – an odd turn of events we thought). As you may have guessed, it’s about cats, wicked cool cats. It starts with a human girl called Haru (voiced by Ann Hathaway) who saves the Prince of Cats (Andrew Bevis), however the King of Cats (Tim Curry – didn’t realise it was him until the end when I was watching the credits), who is totally mental, decides to honour the heroic Haru by marrying her off to his son. So it’s up to Haru and her cat friends Baron and Muta (Cary Elwes and Frank Boyle) to find a way out of marrying the Prince and out of the Cat Kingdom.

I spent a lot of time during this film going “That cat is great. I like that cat, he’s my favourite.” well, maybe I did it twice. Baron, the gentleman cat hero, and Natori, the King’s damn cool advisor, were my favourites, but really they were all great and you couldn’t not like any of them, even the crazy King. The English cast was full of names I had actually heard of; as well as the above names there was Rene Auberjonois (The Little Mermaid, Boston Legal, Deep Space Nine), Elliot Gould (Friends, Ocean’s Elelven, ER),  and Kristen Bell (Gossip Girl, Assassin’s Creed, Forgetting Sarah Mashall).

Overall, this film was fun and didn’t take much thinking; just sit back and enjoy the cats. I’m going to give it a 10/10 because fat cat Muta was hilarious, so go watch it :).

~ by Jess Wiles on May 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
