The End is Nigh! – A long journey might be ending soon.


Now before anyone dismisses this as a crazed and slightly nonchalant Doomsday message, it’s not (I don’t believe in that crap anyway). This isn’t about the end of the world, this is about the end of a writing journey. I’ve been writing for about ten years now, of course at first it was just a few stories about my favourite teddy (the TY beanie named Pecan who was a boy even though the tag said he was a girl). Then I started writing for serious. I had plans, big plans, and it all kicked off with an odd sort of Sci-Fi set in a school. I was fourteen at the time and everyone (including the teachers) spoke like teens which got really annoying. Then that flopped for so many reasons and I had a new idea. Again it was a sci-fi about the four elements and parallel universes and battling Satan (I know, what was I thinking?). Unsurprisingly that idea flopped too (still hadn’t got past teenage speech) so I came up with a marvellous idea. This was to be my third and final sci-fi fail (to date at least), though you’d think I would have learned from the last two. This one actually had a name. It was eventually called the Puppeteer and started out as a Final Fantasy-esque fantasy (I’d been playing a lot of FFXII at the time) then turned to sci-fi. To start with it wasn’t horrendously bad, but eventually I put in so many twists and turns that even I got confused and had to abandon it (I would like to add that I have recently re-used the base story in The Company).

Then came my big idea. It came to me in a dream actually. Of course, when I say that I don’t mean that I dreamed of a good idea, the idea was the dream. When I woke up I thought long and hard about it, then made a few adjustments (such as removing the flying motorbikes and eventually the crystals that make you invisible) and hey presto, I had a workable base for a story. Granted, there was no plot; I had to fit that in around the bits I had already dreamed (and then eventually change them into something far more violent and quite different from the original dream), but I got there eventually. That was in 2007. How do I know? I have Word documents dating back to then containing the original drafts for Across the Wall. Last year, (June 2010) I spent three weeks after my exams working almost non-stop on the story and I finished it. Only really, I didn’t, because I started again. Not from scratch, but I wanted to do one last draft to make sure it is as good as it can be. Looking back at my previous works it’s safe to say that this is the better version (Sophie complained that it was horribly violent, but better for it) and I was right to write this final draft.

I now have three chapters to go (though it’s technically two because I’m splitting the last chapter in half) and I hope that my four years of work pay off. Part of me doesn’t want it to be over because I’ve become quite attached to my characters, but another part of me can’t wait to get the bloody thing done. But I make this vow to you now; by the end of the coming week I will have finished Across the Wall.

Right then…better get writing hadn’t I?

~ by Jess Wiles on June 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
