Feeling good about Poems


I seem to be doing pretty well at poetry at the minute. But just as I start feeling good about poems, we move on to prose. Still, I can’t complain, I am more of a prose writer than anything. But, I have decided to continue with poetry while I have the vibe going, so here’s a couple of my latest pieces. (Apologies, I know this post has been empty for some time now but I have reposted the poems below.)

 

I’ll Be Coming Home Soon

I’ll be coming home soon.

I promised you six months ago,

It’s a promise I intend to keep.

 

I’ll be coming home soon.

Bombs can fall and guns can rattle,

But I’ll be coming home to you.

 

I’ll be coming home soon.

This wound of mine only hurts a bit,

It’s mostly just cold and sticky.

 

I’ll be coming home soon.

I think the explosion burst my ears,

And I think I’ve lost my legs.

 

I’ll be coming home soon.

I can see you in the darkness,

You and our little girl, both smiling.

I told you I’d be home soon.

 

The Hunt

I see the floundering shadow of prey.

Hush. I creep through waters of the bay.

Crash. Something knocks me out of the way.

 

I see the Long Nose that struck me.

Slap. Long Nose hits me, I cannot see.

Snap. Long Nose wasn’t where I thought he’d be.

 

The Long nose circles close to prey.

Slam. Long Nose wins the fight today.

Sly. I’ll find food where no Long Nose play.

 

I see the floundering shadow of prey.

Hush. I creep through waters of the bay.

Red. Prey had no time to get away.


~ by Jess Wiles on October 29, 2011.

One Response to “Feeling good about Poems”

  1. Jess, your poems have improved much my dear and it’s been while since we last chat? take care, twinstargemini

Leave a Reply

 
